365 days to better photography

Day 30

January 30, 2011

Yesterday my new external flash arrived in the mail.  It’s a Canon Speedlite 430EX II.  I’m very excited.  I think I will always prefer natural light but it will be nice to capture the indoor and low light moments without the harsh glare of the pop up.  I read the manual yesterday and I have a feeling it’s going to have a steep learning curve but it should be fun!

Here’s a picture of one of the crafts Blake and I are doing for Valentines day.  It was taken with my new flash bouncing off the window behind me.

Then I went back to natural light and took several pictures of our Galileo Thermometer.

These pictures still seem a little gray even though I did set a custom white balance for the last two pictures.  I think I need to get a gray card and start setting the WB in post processing.

2 responses

  1. Loving the metallic pain on the valentine.

    Congrats on the new flash!

    January 31, 2011 at 11:25 pm

    • an introvert

      Thanks, it is such fun paint and washable so the toddler can go crazy 🙂

      January 31, 2011 at 11:48 pm

Leave a Reply

