365 days to better photography

Day 41

February 10, 2011

I can’t wait for Spring.  I’m tired of being cooped up inside and I’m running out of random subjects.  Today I decided to attempt parts of Week 6 of the Two Peas Tutorial. I used my uncle’s Buddha.  He passed away over 10 years ago and this figure made its way down to me through a few family members.  One of which didn’t take very good care of him, hence the nose chip.  I haven’t really done much with him because I’m afraid to cause more damage.  The wood stain rubs off even when dusting him with a dry cloth or q-tip so I try to leave him alone.  My uncle had him displayed for as long as I can remember so I’m very happy to have him.

None of the pictures were edited beyond slight cropping and adding the text.  I did part One of the tutorial “Position your subject in direct light and then reposition your subject in
indirect, or filtered, light.”  and part Four “try metering on the background light vs. metering on your subject and
setting the exposure for your subject.”

 

As #4 in the tutorial suggests I metered off the background instead of the subject to see the difference in exposure.  Clearly it is very under exposed.

Then I moved the Buddha a few feet to the left so that the light from the window wasn’t directly on him.  I think a few clouds may have covered the sun at this point because the light changed a little more. I had to bump up the ISO a little to keep my shutter speed high enough to hand hold.

And then I metered off the background again.

The differences between the direct and indirect light were subtle but noticeable.  However the differences between metering on the dark brown subject and the white fleece in the background were significant!

Leave a Reply

